+44 (0)20 7877 0060 contact@2-sec.com
Select Page

Stage 2: Protect


Once all assets and associated risks have been identified, assessed and prioritised; organisations must develop and implement an overarching strategy to safeguard the business. This encompasses aspects such as security policies and associated frameworks, technical and operational strategies and business continuity.


Cyber Protection: Protect Stage



It is at this stage that a business needs to implement controls for the access to its digital and physical assets, build awareness among employees, introduce and improve processes to secure systems and data as well as look to implement additional solutions to better protect the business.

Changes must be implemented throughout the business by cultivating a security vigilant culture. The management’s responsibility in creating such a culture includes implementing security policies and procedures, coordination across functional areas, employee training and clear accountability and responsibilities when cyber threats occur.



By implementing threat remediation, organisations can quickly identify and resolve threats to their system.

Important steps in this process are regular reviews of system issues as well as an assessment of cyber risks, reviewing and identifying indicators and flagging warnings . Solutions to the threats can then be prioritised and problems resolved.

Know the security priorities for your organisation

Understand how you can improve your organisation's cyber readiness.

Cyber Security Risk Management Lifecycle

Protect is stage 2 of 5. A business needs to implement all stages of the life cycle to best manage risk and protect the business. To discover more about the other stages of the life cycle, click on the segments below:
Created with Snap

Cyber & Information Security: Discover More

Here are some quick links to related services and articles that might be of interest

  • Stage 3: AssureStage 3: Assure- It is essential to assess how well the business measures against a set of recognised criteria